h1

D.E.H.T.A.’s no P.I.T.A.!

November 26, 2008

Since everyone seems to be writing about the Wrathgate quest line, which I have yet to finish still… I’ve decided to post instead my thoughts on another interesting quest line in Northrend, the D.E.H.T.A.

For those who haven’t gotten through Borean Tundra, and who don’t mind some spoilers, the D.E.H.T.A. stands for “Druids for the Ethical and Humane Treatment of Animals”.  Essentially, it’s an anti-Nesingwary quest line.

I’ve always loved the Nesingwary quests.  I know that a lot of people hate that it’s just a grind, but as a skinner, I approached it with aplomb: There’s nothing like getting paid to grind for leather!  Wee!

But in the Borean Tundra, there is a caravan of hippies druids who aim to put an end to this dreadful torture.  Maybe you’ve been like me, been able to turn a blind eye to the mass killings caused by Nessingwary, but these druids will make you see differently.

If you’ve noticed a debuff called “Animal Blood”, this causes the D.E.H.T.A. activists to be hostile towards you if you approach them within 2 minutes of killing any beasts in the zone.

The quest line takes you through trapping Nesingwary’s trappers, freeing the most adorable and helpless baby elephants, and killing Nesingwary’s lackeys.  While maybe violence to combat violence isn’t the most ethical answer, after seeing those poor elephants, I know I’m ready to head out to Sholazar Basin and give Nessingwary a piece of my mind (shortly before I run around gleefully skinning everything!)

There is also another D.E.H.T.A. quest line led by their representative King Mrgl-Mrgl in the northern part of the Tundra who has discovered a tribe of intelligent Murlocs who you get to befriend.  The murloc tadpoles are the cutest little things you’ll ever see, and you even get to dress up in the murloc costume.  Be sure you /dance when you’re in it!

While I wasn’t a big fan of Borean Tundra in general, these quests were pretty fun and had a neat little story with them.

At least they are enough to hold me over ’til I get to do that Wrathgate line everyone’s so crazy about!

Oh!  And if you haven’t seen it, they’ve redone the Armoury!  The look has changed, and they’ve added achievements.  I was wondering when they were going to get around to that.

Brajana – Level 75 Troll Hunter

  • Skinning: 450
  • Leatherworking: 412
  • First Aid: 400
  • Fishing: 381
  • Cooking: 392
9 comments

  1. Must have baby Murloc pet.

    Do this now Blizzard.

    Do it!


  2. http://www.wowhead.com/?item=20371

    http://www.wowhead.com/?item=22114

    He’s out there, but unless you’ve got a way to get a beta card from the first Blizzcon, or to win the ’05 Christmas prize on the WoW-Europe site, it’s not lookin’ good for you Boostah. 😦


  3. Seriously, am I the only person that loved Borean Tundra? 😦


  4. Nope, I enjoyed Borean Tundra, though I thought it could have been better. It felt like they shoved too many regions into one zone.

    I got sooooo much leather from people doing the Nesingwary quests – I just consider it as producing something good (my LW skill) from the mindless slaughter.


  5. That’s a good way to think about the slaughtering, Neggles! Now I feel even less guilty!

    I also agree about the too many regions. There were parts I did like, but especially the beginning was just not that enjoyable for me. At least not as enjoyable as Fjord.

    Fjord felt like it had a better flow to me!


  6. Whereas the Fjord bored my face off.


  7. I loved the Fjord, but I admit I didn’t really savour it since I was out of there in a few hours. I didn’t enjoy the brief time I was in Tundra at the appropriate level, and when I went back there at 80 to do the zone for the Loremaster achievement (and yes, I’m sure that the look had something to do with the feel I had for both zones but I doa agree that the flow in Fjord was more appealing to me). To each his own I suppose.

    As for the murloc pet, I know that they’ve held Murky and his brethren out for special occasions. I want one that I can obtain without hunting down people and killing them for their codes.

    Um, not that I would do that …


  8. Um, not that I would do that …

    Well damn, there goes a potential customer.

    *puts away my collection of explosives*


  9. I really wanted to punch the D.E.H.T.A. Hippies in the face.



Leave a Reply

