h1

“Gorilladin: I’ll just tank the d@mn thing myself.”

November 19, 2008

The title is a reference to some shirts BRK was recently vendoring.  I like it.  And I love my Gorilla, it has been amazing to level with him!

By the way… I FINALLY picked out a name.  My Gorilla is now called “Hanno”  (which means merciful), named for Hanno the Navigator, a Carthaginian explorer who noted what he observed as a tribe of very hairy women when he was traveling through Sierra Leone. He called them “Gorillai”, which is the origin of the name Gorilla.

❤ Wikipedia.

Now let me say, AoE grinding always scared me.  My mage does not like to take on more than one thing at a time.  It usually results in a dead Gnome.  And I was always the same way with my hunter.

But after so much time studying and practising my Huntering skills, my hunter has become like an extension of myself.  I’ve played her enough that I know exactly which keybindings do what, I know where my panic buttons are (AH! Feign! Feign! Feign!), I know what abilities are best used when.  I’m comfortable in my Troll skin!

When I’d first heard about the AoE tanking of the Gorillas, I was a little nervous, but excited.  I don’t want to be pulling aggro and getting myself killed, but I wanted to see what kind of stuff I could take on.

And it’s AMAZING!  It’s almost a chore to try to pull aggro from my gorilla.  I just send him in, bounce him around to a bunch of mobs within the area, pop a Mend Pet on him, and give those mobs an arrow shower!  It’s so nice to see 5 or 6 XP gains pop up at a time.  Wee!

It’s going to take a really great gear upgrade for me to break my T5 2-piece bonus.  I rarely really need to use Mend Pet, thanks to the healing caused by my Volley.

I haven’t really used other Tenacity pets since Wrath came out.  I did pick up Sparkle, my Rhino, and he is pretty decent at single target tanking… but so is Hanno, AND he can multitank.  So there.

Anyone else having a little love affair with their Gorilla?

Blog Announcement

With the coming of the end of my school term in the next couple of weeks, and with all the lovely content spewing forth, and with Unemployed having official sign ups again, it seems it is time to reinvigorate Mend Pet.  I am announcing the return of my weekend regular posts of This Week in Raiding and WoW Word of the Week!  I will also try to post daily during the week, but I still might miss a day or two here and there.  School isn’t over just quite yet.

Also, while I’m leveling, I’m going to end my posts with a little update on my skills and level, in case you are curious about where I’m at. 🙂

Brajana – Level 74 Troll Hunter

  • Skinning: 450
  • Leatherworking: 405
  • First Aid: 400
  • Fishing: 381
  • Cooking: 392
5 comments

  1. Bahahaha, shameless self-promotion ftw


  2. Oh, man, this is SO what I needed to hear.

    I’m the same way about AOE grinding. It makes me nervous. Very, very nervous. And hearing that someone else was and is now loving it really makes me more prone to trying it myself. Thank you so much!


  3. Quote from a guildie:

    “Toque has a kindof a weird relationship with his gorilla. Its best not to ask too many questions.”


  4. Anyone else having a little love affair with their Gorilla?

    I’ll admit – Kongsecrate is the only pet of mine that’s above 71.


  5. I have a Cat, Wasp, Spider, and my beloved ape Pingpong. I try to spread the love, I DO dig the spider web (especially on BIG mobs), but I miss Pingpong when he’s not out. It’s Weird! He collected SIXTEEN Rhino’s and they fell one by one with one mend. I LIKE grinding for leather. It’s exhilarating!!

    And I NEVER have to send him in myself or worry about using misdirection. I just lay on a serpent sting and he’s there w/ aggro almost before the arrow arrives. It’s amazing. And if I do use misdirection, I don’t think I could draw aggro w/ a thermonuclear warhead.

    And he eats bread. And fruit. We have picnics together. Sometimes he offers me a piece of fruit, but w/ all that fanny scratching, I’m usually full.



Leave a Reply

