h1

For the Horde!

October 8, 2008

I love the Horde.  Anyone who knows me at all knows this.  But why do I love the Horde so much?  And not just me, but why is there so much pride for players of this faction?  This is the question I’ve asked myself.

NOTE: Instead of saying “except the Blood Elves” all the time, I’ll just make a disclaimer that I am not a big fan of them.  They don’t count as part of the Horde as far as I’m concerned, in this post at least.

First of all, I think the Horde has such strong lore around its leaders.  And what is a faction without its leaders?  Thrall and Sylvannas especially have great stories behind them, and you can really feel like you have a connection to them if you learn their stories.

The Alliance?  Not so much.  Who have they got?  Jaina Proudmore?  Okay, she’s pretty cool.  But she’s not even truly Alliance – she’s almost neutral.  Her and Thrall?  Giggity-giggity is all I’ve got to say there.

It’s not even just the leaders.  The story behind the Horde draws so much more sympathy from me.  They’re the underdogs, they’re trying to make their place in this new home and ally themselves with their neighbours.  While the Alliance are just kind of there, holding on to the threads of an allegiance formed to fight a force which is no longer there.

Another point for the Horde for me is their races.  I tend to shy away from human-like characters when I play games.  Humans, Dwarves, even Gnomes are just not colourful enough for me.  If I wanted to be a human, I’d just, well, I AM a human, so I’d just be.  When I play a game, I want to be something different, and not just in height (or ear length) but actually different.  Humans are boring.

Now, it’s not like I have a whole lot against the Alliance.  In fact, I’ve secretly got a level 50 Gnome Mage that I’ve leveled up and been playing quite a bit more lately.  But I just don’t feel a connection to the faction itself.  And I don’t see other players displaying the same pride that players of the Horde do.

There seems to be a stronger connection to players of the Horde to their faction than players of the Alliance to theirs.  This brings to mind the whole debate from the WoW Insider Show… the cheer or battle cry of the Alliance?  They don’t really have one.  And the ones they do have are either copying the Horde, or based on the fact that they don’t like the Horde.  “For the Alliance!”  You just can’t say that with as much passion and pride as you can say “For the Horde!”  Can you think of a good one?  One that isn’t class or race specific?  (Not “For Gnomeregan!” or “For the Light!”, as they aren’t general enough to encompass the faction as a whole.)

I think the fact that I leveled on a PvP server may have also had an effect on my Horde allegiance.  When you’re on a PvE server, and you can quest right along side the Alliance… you might not form the same rivalry as when you can kill and get killed by them.

Also, the Alliance has Night Elves.  /hate.

7 comments

  1. Even though I’m a lowly BloodElf, I feel you. Even before the elves, I was always Horde, and I always will be, no matter how tempting seeing the other side may be. For the Horde!


  2. Hehe. I am not exactly against the blood elves either, although they are by far my least favourite Horde race. I know I don’t feel the same connection to them as I do to Orcs or Tauren… maybe it’s because they’re newcomers 🙂


  3. But… but…

    What about blueberries? 😦


  4. My Horde loyalties even extend into RL conversations, I’m sad to say. If I meet another gamer, we go through the usual questions (what server? what class? etc), and if they say Alliance, my eyes narrow ever so much, my stance becomes aggressive, and I just reply, “Oh.” I relax again as we go into raiding topics, but there’s always that initial feeling of “enemy!”

    I came to the conclusion that Horde is so popular because they are the misunderstood “bad guys.” We’re just trying to survive, and these so-called Alliance people think they need to put us in “our place” – we’re the underdog. It’s a romantic idea, and certainly what attracted me to the Tauren.

    Though I love Sylvannas, I’m not that big of a fan of Undead, and even less of a fan of Blood Elves. Too secretive and manipulative for my tastes…


  5. Neg – I’ve had that happen before for sure. This summer, I met someone (who is now a close friend of mine) and found out they play. I asked what class, he said Hunter. I was excited, since I also play a Hunter! Then I said “Wait… what RACE?” Dwarf. Hrm… Allaince…. well, I can tell you this, if he’d said Night Elf I’m pretty sure we wouldn’t have developed quite the same friendship that we have! 🙂


  6. My main shadow priest and her sisters are on a Pve, but I do have a Horde PVP hunter, and I have learnt to passionately hate the packs of Alliance that went around STV, and because Of them I’m stuck in Tanaris at level 42, needing to go back to STV to try and level up a little more to do some more quests ( its another excuse not to level that toon)


  7. I think growing up on a PvP server does have a lot to do with it, but you’re right, the lore, it calls to me.

    I love druids something fierce, but I’ve never been able to stand a Night Elf druid. As a person in real life I strive to be close to the land, and Tauren are that incarnate, while Night Elves have a very high-handed feel to them, they respect the land, and care for it, but they aren’t one with it.

    Additionally, most people who are adamantly for the Alliance tell me that they just want to be the good guys. Well see, the beauty of WoW is that there are no ‘good guys’ or ‘evil guys’. There’s lots of grey areas and for me that’s part of the allure.

    Funny thing is, I also play Warhammer and they DEFINITELY have a good vs evil mechanic, no denying that. Destruction isn’t misunderstood, it’s sadistic, knivving, and out to kill and destroy everything, end of story. Order isn’t ‘good’ though, I play a Witch Hunter, my favorite quote from that world is “Blessed is the mind too small for doubt.” Now if that isn’t just the most bigoted, racist, and unwholesome thing you’ve ever heard! But that’s what the humans are about, religious fanaticism. In WAR, there’s very little that’s good. In WoW, I play as a steward of the land, and I love them both oh so much 😀



Leave a Reply

