h1

Why I Love the Solarian Encounter

September 1, 2008

The mage who thinks she's a warlock.

Recently, we took down High Astromancer Solarian, which we hadn’t done in quite some time.  And while we were doing it, I realized that I really do love that fight!  But why?

It gives me this feeling – the feeling you get when you are sitting on the edge of your seat hearing lottery numbers being called out.  Will I be the bomb?  Will <insert raid member> make it out in time?  Oooo, suspense!

There is such an excitement to this fight, and it comes from the fact that no matter how well it is going, just one peccadillo and it could all be over instantly.

I even like the fact that you know exactly whose fault it is.  Not that we really point fingers, but that makes everyone so much more aware of what they are doing, because you just can’t hide it if you screw this one up.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who gets that feeling when doing this fight, at least for the first few times there… you see those flashing charges eminating from somewhere within the DPS ‘pile’ your breath stops –

They aren’t moving – should you move to avoid them?  No, they might go the same way.  Why aren’t they moving?!  They’re going to wipe the raid!  But it was going so well!

But wait… it’s a paladin.  He bubbled out just in time!  *phew!*

And I think the cruelest part of the whole bomb experience is that when you blow up the raid, you yourself don’t get blown up.  You just float gently to the ground as everyone around you takes the fall (pun intended).  You just stand there, surrounded by the bodiesof your raid, who are slightly irked to very irrate (depending on how many wipes that makes it).

What fun! 😀

3 comments

  1. Wait, so it works like Baron Geddon?

    AWESOME!


  2. Yeah, similar concept 🙂 I’m sure I would have felt the same about the Baron Geddon fight, but I was only there once and don’t remember it well enough.


  3. You have to forgive me, I was a child of the original raid circle, and killed basically everything in the Old World save for the Horsemen, Sapph, and Kel 😛



Leave a Reply

