h1

The Ghost of Patches to Come (Wrath of the Lich King)

August 15, 2008

Yep, I’m doing a Wrath of the Lich King post.  Surprise!  Well, I had a theme going… I had to finish it!

I’m going to take this opportunity to actually read through the patch notes for the beta, I’ll highlight all the changes I am interested in or excited about.  This will be the first time I’ve actually looked at them, so it should be fun, but my naivety about the upcoming expansion will be apparent.

Patch 3.0.1 (beta)

Barber Shop – This is a neat idea… not sure if they have decided if they are bringing in brand new hairstyles and such, because that would be great, but I don’t think I’d changed my look right now.  Besides, you can’t see my hair – I’m wearing a bucket on my head!

Achievement Points – I think this will be fun.  I hope they make the points worth something – tabards and titles and such… but even if they don’t, I don’t see why anyone would have a real problem with this.  Sure, you might not really be concerned with achievements, but they aren’t going to hurt your game.  Well, maybe it will be a bit annoying for people to be bragging about them or whatnot, but they’ll do that with anything.

Death Knights – I look forward to trying out my own Death Knight.  I probably won’t do it right away, and I doubt I will level it to 80… probably won’t even get it to 70.  But it’ll be neat to see!  I’m afraid of the over saturation of Death Knights that is inevitable… we saw a lot of Blood Elves and Draenei with the release of Burning Crusade, but this time, it will affect group composition.  I’ve never really been into melee type classes, so I probably won’t be a big fan of playing the Death Knight.  But, at least Blizzard has added a new class to the game!

Pet Talents – Woo!  This is awesome, adds a whole new dimension of customization to the Hunter class.  I really look forward to playing around with it and figuring out the best way to spec my pet.  I also hope this helps with the always present “pet can’t hold aggro” issue.

If a hunter tames a pet that is more than five levels beneath their own level, the pet will then have their level increased to five levels beneath the hunter’s own level. I must say, I’m probably going to go looking for new pets because of this.  I’ve always been waaay too lazy to level a pet up.  I think I can deal with 5 levels though.

Improved Shadow Word: Pain (Shadow) – Now increases damage done by your Shadow Word: Pain by 5/10%, but no longer increases the duration of your Shadow Word: Pain. I think this is a nice move.  I know when I was leveling, I’d usually have a mob dead before the SW:P was worn off, making the talent point a little useless to me.

Wand Specialization (Discipline) has been removed. I don’t know, I always took this when leveling my priest.  Saves me mana if I can just wand the mob down the last 30% or so… Am I the only priest who used this?  But I guess they had to remove it to make room for other things.

New Calendar feature – Neat, but I think this might go the way of the voice chat… just a bit too late to be used, and it is something that either everyone or no one will be using.

Players will now be able to access their non-combat pets and mounts by clicking on the pets tab in the Character Info panel. *cue the beam of light from above and chorus singing*  I would buy the expansion for this alone.  Seriously.

There are a few other little changes that I think will be handy to have, even if they don’t make a big difference in the game:

  • Quests can be shared with party members at any distance.
  • Quests can be shared with party members by linking the quest into party chat.
  • Shift-clicking to loot mail: You can now hold Shift and click on mail in your in-box to automatically loot any items and gold without opening the mail.
  • A 5 minute timer will appear over the player’s unit frame showing the countdown until your PvP flag is cleared.

Well, I really am looking forward to the expansion.  I don’t really want to hear more detail than this stuff, but I don’t mean I want to be all hugger-mugger about it… I just like surprises and experiencing things first hand.  It’s nice to know the big things to expect, but I don’t need to know how much spell power is going to be on my gear and all that.  That is a discussion for another day… in about 5 or 6 months, I suppose!

4 comments

  1. I am way too amused by your word of the week, and watching you incorporate it into your posts. I’m so glad you emailed me, otherwise I might never have found your blog!


  2. To a lesser extent, at the release of BC group composition was thrown into a hugger-mugger. (your words are contageous) Remember before when Horde had no Paladins and Alliance had no Shamans? It feels now like Pallies are a dime a dozen, they’re EVERYWHERE, and shaman are a very low-populated race, really makes me very very sad :<

    I really hope it evens out to be not quite so bad once people decide how they feel about playing DKs… but I’m not so sure. Of course, playing as a tank right now who’s getting her niche taken away I’m probably more concerned about the massive influx of DKs than most would be :/


  3. I’m glad you guys enjoy my word of the week idea 🙂 I encourage you to incorporate it into your own blog posts and vocabulary! It’s always fun to learn to use a new word.

    Yea, there are a LOT of pallies, I find. It’s hard to think back to the days when we didn’t have them! I think there are going to be a huge amount of Death Knights for the first couple months, but I think a lot of people will go back to their original 70s after a while… because obviously, the DK is not going to be for everyone.


  4. I dunno, I think all us blueberries will find the haircut thing useless too.

    We don’t have hair, we have horns! And chintacles! *wiggles chintacles*



Leave a Reply

