h1

The Great Blog Subscribe-a-thon

August 14, 2008

Phew.

I feel like being informed.  I feel like getting to know the other bloggers of the WoW community.  I feel like being overwhelmed.

So, I’ve just subscribed to almost every WoW (especially hunter) blog I could find that’s been updated a least a couple times in the last two weeks.  Mostly found from links of the blogs I already read.  I’m up to… 122 blogs!

That’s a crazy number!  At least for me.  Before today, I had about 10-15 WoW related blogs to read, maybe 25 blogs in all categories of my RSS reader.  This is a big undertaking, but I’m going to see what I can learn.   I’m hoping I can draw connections and inspiration from the creativity of others, since my creativity is… limited.

I don’t know how many updates there will be, but I have a feeling that when I get up in the morning tomorrow, I will be greeted with a real hugger-mugger Google Reader!

I’ve made a list of all the blogs I’ve subscribed to.  It’s not organized by anything other than alphabet, but that’ll change.  If you have a blog that’s not listed, or know one I should add to my extensive list, let me know! 🙂  I’m sure I’ve missed a few good ones.

If I find really informative or interesting posts and/or blogs, I’ll be sure to write about them.

I’ve already got something I’d like to talk about – Female Gamers.  I have found more blogs with “Girl” or “Lady” or “Women” in the title, than I have blogs about Mages.  I have also noticed that at least half of the bloggers I have subscribed to are females.  I have nothing against female gamers (being one myself), but I would like to bring up the issue of why females feel it is necessary to focus on the fact that they are female, rather than just blogging about the game.  The only “male” oriented blog I have found is WoW Dad, which isn’t really about being male, but about being a parent.  But this is a topic for another day!!

6 comments

  1. I think the Blog title “Girls Don’t Game” sums up the girl thing… We are still a minority amongst wow players/gamers in general.. There is also a very big assumption ingame/vent that you are male. Untill you specify/are heard on vent, I guess the amount of bloggers with a gender in the title comes from that.. and also its a distinction from the male writers who have female toons..


  2. I wrote up a post about this specifically in the recent past. I was in a PuG Gruul’s raid that was being hosted by my guild. I logged into Vent and spoke up to greet everyone and another person in the raid said something like, “Oh. My. Gawd! There’s another girl in the raid!” as if we were some absolutely rare beast that lurks and hides and is never seen. Imagine her surprise to find out that a good half of the raid was female.

    One of the commenters to that post said that she was in an all-female end-game raiding guilds. About half of the people that replied were female as well.

    I still think it’s just silly to emphasize your gender in this kind of environment. We’re not that much of a minority, due to just how accessible the game is to everyone. So why feel the need to point out that you’re a chick and act like it’s so surprising?

    The only time I bring up the fact that I am a woman is obliquely, when using it to relate to my characters as a roleplayer (I roleplay female characters exclusively in World of Warcraft, even though I have a tendency to roleplay male characters outside of the game), and on my About page. Anything else is superfluous.


  3. Alright, I need to work on a post for this.

    Even on a post where I just barely mention this topic, I’m already getting some interesting feedback – so look forward to a post about gender dynamics from me soon… it’s just too fun a topic to miss out on!


  4. Holy crap, another reader? Awesome! ❤


  5. I think part of it has to do with your background– some people do come from a background where girls playing the game is a big deal. Then you have people like me who are in a guild where half of the people are female, it is common for Karazhan runs to consist of five or six girls, and it’s just a normal thing =P


  6. I should add though, I have since decided to add the fact that I am female to the front page (where I mention it in passing), simply because I have had instances in the past where people have assumed I am a guy and it has weirded me out!



Leave a Reply

