h1

WoW Word of the Week: hugger-mugger

August 10, 2008

This is considered a word?  Really?  Well, in that case… I need to incorporate it into my vocabulary, because that’s one fancy word.  It also can be used as a noun, adjective, adverb or verb.  That is flexibility!

hugger-mugger

\HUH-guhr-muh-guhr\, noun:
1. A disorderly jumble; muddle; confusion.
2. Secrecy; concealment.

adjective:
1. Confused; muddled; disorderly.
2. Secret.

adverb:
1. In a muddle or confusion.
2. Secretly.

transitive verb:
1. To keep secret.

intransitive verb:
1. To act in a secretive manner.

Example:  The information about Wrath of the Lich King floating around on the internet is such a hugger-mugger, it would take me much too long to sort through it all.  I’ll just wait until I have the game in my hands and figure it out then!

11 comments

  1. Intriguing. Where’d you stumbled across a word like that? I’ll be incorporating that into my vocabulary this upcoming week; I already did the same with droll last week!


  2. Yes, where the hell’d you find this word?

    Also, it reminds me of Hogger. Bahahaha


  3. […] Pet A Blog of Beast Mastery and Holy Priesthood. « WoW Word of the Week: hugger-mugger The Ghost of Patches Present (Burning Crusade) August 11, 2008 The game received almost a […]


  4. […] I’m so glad they did away with the 40-man concept! I went to a couple, but they were such a hugger-mugger that I just couldn’t do […]


  5. […] much of a post today, it’s barely past noon on my birthday and already the day has been a big hugger-mugger of a bad day.  But when I saw this screenshot on our guild forums today, it made me smile.  So I […]


  6. […] I’m just working on getting me the kidneys of the Hugger-mugger Agent Cat!  (See, I even managed to use it in a 3 line post!  Go […]


  7. […] be, but I have a feeling that when I get up in the morning tomorrow, I will be greeted with a real hugger-mugger Google […]


  8. […] whole ordeal has left her in such a hugger-mugger that she can’t seem to get any work done or manage to write a decently-thought-out […]


  9. […] really want to hear more detail than this stuff, but I don’t mean I want to be all hugger-mugger about it… I just like surprises and experiencing things first hand.  It’s nice to know […]


  10. This is really a word?

    English skill increased to 362.


  11. […] resist, etc… There were mobs running this way and that, making our raid look like a real hugger-mugger!  Trapping in 25-mans is a lot harder than trapping in 5-mans.  A […]



Leave a Reply

