h1

This Week in Raiding… Tidewalker Down!

August 9, 2008

I think I like doing regularly recurring posts.  So, I’m starting another one.  Saturdays I will post a “This Week in Raiding”, and Sundays will be “WoW Word of the Week”.  Let’s hope it doesn’t become banal!

I’m going to use this as something to recap what Unemployed, and more specifically, I achieved and accomplished in raids.  I figure this is a good week to start because Wednesday…

WE DOWNED MOROGRIM TIDEWALKER!

Unemployed Downs Tidewalker!

Unemployed Downs Tidewalker!

But let’s start with Monday.  Monday night was Zul’Aman night this week, and although I wasn’t there, I hear it got pretty exciting.  Considering we didn’t even have enough people signed up to fill a 5-man, with some pulls from the guild, ZA was still accomplished.  Even if a good portion hadn’t even been in the raid before, they did an excellent job.  I wasn’t present for it (it was a holiday – I was sleeping and eating, remember?) you can check out Secret Agent Cat for an excellent recap of the night.

Tuesday night we pulled together and headed to Serpentshine Cavern.  Lurker and Tidewalker were our targets.  We’ve been trying Tidewalker for a few weeks now, and we’re all getting antsy waiting to get a new boss down, it’s been over a month since our last progression kill!  Well, we got to Lurker and for the first time in a while, we got him down in one try.  40 minutes from first trash pull to our first 2x[Badge of Justice], not a bad time at all!

Well, we got to Tidewalker, and although our spirits and our hopes were high, our luck was not.  We made 6 excellent attempts, any of which could have taken him down if it wasn’t for little things like half of our healers being Watery Graved at once!  We were taking down those Murlocs a lot better than we ever had… butwe only managed Morogrim to get to 20%.

Unfortunately I wasn’t present for Wednesday‘s raid.  But from what I’ve heard/seen/read, Tidewalker went down pretty smoothly on the third attempt!  Congratulations to everyone who was there… I look forward to heading in and taking him down with you next week! For a better recap of the evening, check out what our Guild Leader Pilsner has to say over at From Cow to Chicken!  We’re working on Karathress now, and that should be lots of fun.

Thursday night, our roster was a little lacking in the numbers and roles we needed (like Tanks and such), so we decided to call it a Gruul/Mag run.  Guess it was a bit of a reward for doing such a great job on Wednesday!  We sped through all of Gruul’s lair in about 45 minutes, and as usual, there was no [Dragonspine Trophy].  As much as I would love that trophy, the day it drops will be a day of guild drama indeed – especially if there are no rogues who need it present.  But that’s a whole other story!

We took a 10 minute break and everyone eventually rounded up at Magtheridon’s Lair.  First off, I must comment on how much the vent chatter was driving me UP THE WALL that night!  We have a guild policy on keeping vent clear of chatter, but it’s a little lax when we are doing something we know so well as the trash in Mag’s Lair.

However… As I’ve stated before, I’m not really “into” the whole theorycrafting my character for level 80.  That is so far in the future for me, I don’t care right now how I’m going to spend my extra 10 talent points or which herbs are going to be most valuable, that’s something I want to figure out for myself when I am ACTUALLY playing through the expansion.  I don’t want to have it all planned out before it even hits the shelves!

That being said, if I don’t care about this stuff for MY character, I sure as heck care even less about how you are going to spec your Death Knight.  A good 30 minutes of being subjected to this kind of discussion that really is only between 2-3 raid members and I’d just about had it.

If you want to talk about it, use whispers.  Use guild chat.  Heck, use the raid channel, because then I can at least avoid reading it.  I am not proud of it, but I eventually had to resort to turning my vent off until we finally reached the boss.

Anywaaaay, back from my little rant… we wiped on Mag.  Twice.  It was sad really, but it wasn’t a DPS or healing or tanking problem… it was a cube-clicking thing!  I don’t blame anyone specific, and I’ve never had to deal with the pressure of being a clicker, but I do think it may have been a mistake to make a clicker out of the only person in the raid who had never seen the encounter before.

We got him eventually.  No 20-slot bag for me. /sadface.

Friday – More ZA.  I wasn’t there, I have no idea what happened… but I am sure it went smoothly!

2 comments

  1. Grats!!


  2. You should’ve been there the night in SSC when trash chat on the way to Leo consisted of scathing evaluations of the US education system! Good times, good times.
    Really though, of the clickers we had, only 2 had ever clicked before, and it was assigned to the people with the highest HP so they could hold it the longest. It’s just like listening for DPS to start/stop and AOE and whatnot. It all just goes back to “if you’re not 100% sure of your assignment, say something, and if you mess up don’t be afraid to say so.”



Leave a Reply

