h1

Anticipation for WotLK

July 24, 2008

A.K.A.  “Why I did not sign up for the Wrath Beta.”

With the opening of the Beta for WotLK, the news about the new expansion has hit the world with quite a lot of force.  With my horrible memory, I must say I don’t quite remember how bad it got before the Burning Crusade was released, but this time around, the drama is already going strong.

Even though the expansion isn’t set to be released until at least November, some guilds have already fallen apart.  Many guilds have stopped bothering with progression, and players are quitting the game left and right to wait for the expansion.  They say, what’s the point of progression when in 4-6 months, we’ll be replacing our T6 with greens?  Sure, that’s one way to think of it.

But that’s not how I think of it.  If you are going to go along with that kind of thinking, you could just as easily say, what’s the point of playing WotLK when the third expansion will be out in just 2 years?  It’s the mentality that you are playing to get the best gear, and if there is some reason that in the future, it is all going to be replaced, then there is no reason to get it.

I can’t say I understand that myself, though.  Sure, I want to get better gear, and it’d be great to have the best gear out there – but to me, the gear is just the means, the goal is to see all of the terrific content that Blizzard has designed for us to play.  Just because the expansion is coming out soon, and there will be more content to see there doesn’t mean I will stop playing.  In fact, it motivates me!  I need to work extra hard if I want to see as much content as I can BEFORE it becomes obsolete!

Unemployed is working toward a planned Onyxia raid right now, and that is what has gotten me thinking.  I wish I had worked harder to see things like Onyxia and Naxxramas before the Burning Crusade came out.  I feel like I’ve missed a book or two in a comic book series.  Sure, you can catch up if you miss them, but it’s just not the same.  And now they are rare editions, it takes a lot of work to get a chance to see those old instances and raids.

So I say to you, stop panicking!  Cherish what we have now, savour it, stop reading all the Wrath of the Lich King news, and get back to your raids.  You will see it all in due time, when it is ready to be played, and you will have another couple of years that will go by all to quickly before the next expansion is released.

7 comments

  1. I completely agree with you Brajana, while my highest toon is only level 41, I plan on getting to try some of the end-game content before wrath comes out, even though I will probably have only two months to potentially get a drop. I think giving up on the current content because it will be obsolete is not the correct mindset for a MMORPG, especially WoW. Anyway, I’m interested by your blog, seeing as my two favorite toons are also a hunter and a priest, oddly enough haha. Keep up the good work!

    Bremere


  2. bremere:

    Congratulations on being my first commenter! Glad to see that you’re interested in the blog. I’ll do my best not to disappoint! I hope you manage to get up and see at least some of the end game before Wrath comes out. I must say, even though Karazhan is just the first real ‘end-game’ instance, it’s one of my favourites, and I think everyone should at least get to see it. A lot of neat encounters in there!


  3. I’ve got so much stuff to do before WotLK that it’s not even funny…


  4. I’m an old-school player of sorts, having played since the open beta. That still doesn’t keep me from pushing forward to see content — both old and new! Even though I’ve seen the inside of the Black Temple and explored the furthest reaches of Hyjal Summit, I still participate in pre-expansion saids such as Molten Core, Blackwing Lair, Onyxia’s Lair, Zul’Gurub, Ahn’Qiraj, and so on. I mean, how else am I ever going to get a Benediction on my perky priestess?

    You’re right; thinking too far ahead just decreases the enjoyment you can get from the game. There’s too much to do to worry about the Wrath of the Lich King!


  5. Pike: Just keep working at it, I hope you’ll get to see as much as you can, even if it means going back once you hit 80, like we are doing for Onyxia nowadays!

    Cynra: You’re really lucky to have seen all the old world (and current world) content at its prime! I love going back and making a field trip of it, but getting the full experience of it is something that has been lost to all who weren’t there to raid much at 60, and it’ll never quite be the same.


  6. I really think what is getting lost in a lot of it, is that the gear will give you numbers, but won’t make you be a better WoW player. Sure, your gear will be replaced easier when the new expansion comes out, but I liked (with my priest) keeping my healing skills sharp, making sure I had the proper heal rotation, being able to help heal the whole group when chaos happens in a calm manner.

    I also think that chemistry among any raiding group is crucial. If you have players quitting for 6-8 months that’s important time that you’re not running with them, adjusting to their style, etc. I fully agree with you here.

    I enjoy your site as well. Take care.


  7. jpapciak: You make a great point! I didn’t really address that at all in my post. I recently took only a 4 month break from the game, and I know that when I came back in, I could tell that my skills weren’t nearly as sharp as they had been before.

    I love most of the people I raid with, but I understand that chances are I won’t be raiding with a lot of them when I get to 80. Some will leave the game, others will just leave the guild or realm. Yet another reason to spend the time I have with my friends while they are still around!



Leave a Reply

