h1

PvP Like the Good Ol’ Days!

July 23, 2008

This weekend I ran the first guild event we’ve had in a long time.  I decided to make it something simple, just to get a feel for what all the new people in the guild were interested in.  I figured, who doesn’t like to kill Alliance?  (If anyone in the guild were to reply “Me”, they would be gkicked immediately, of course).  The plan was this:  Attack Southshore, then raid one of the major cities, chosen by the guild members on the forum.  I wanted to do Southshore because Hillsbrad would be a good place for us to all congregate, and back before the days of BGs, Southshore vs. Tarren Mill were where all the action was (at least on my old PvP server).

So I spent the afternoon gathering supplies for the event, fished up 100 Deviate fish to distribute, gathered some Heavy Leather to make Heavy Leather Balls, bought 40G worth of alcohol from the Barkeep in Org.  I filled my bags with non-combat pets, my Mario costume, and all my other assorted fun gear.  I made my way to Undercity to start heading to Tarren Mill.

Ever gotten bugged in the UC elevators?  Never happened to me before.  But good ol’ WoW decided that Sunday was the day to show me what it’s like.  It may have had to do with the fact that I was alt-tabbed out when I was going down, I don’t know.  But I came back to find myself disconnected.  I try to log back in, and I get booted.  Again.  And again.  On the character log in screen, I notice that my location is listed as blank.  Greeeeat!

I finally gave up and logged onto Fergy, reluctantly opened a GM ticket (knowing I wouldn’t get a response in time).  There goes all my tasty fish and alcohol!  It was a sad day.

But the event was fun, nonetheless.  Other than a little confusion with the start time (Whoever put 8PM in the MotD sure screwed up there! *shifty eyes*) we started without a hitch, and got Soutshore down in a matter of seconds.  It was enough to weit our palettes, and we were ready to head to SW.  I hadn’t really planned the whole evening, I figured we’d just play it by ear, which we did.  We portaled to Stonard and took the short jog to Elwynn, taking a visit to raid Hogger first (although some level 12 ninja’s our kill!).  The beginning of the Stormwind raid was quite disorganized, but most of us ended up on a dock by Stockades.  We co-ordinated a res and managed to take out our impromptu nemesis, Starbeam (one of the many NE hunters).

After we got a little tired of all the dying and running back, we used Stockade as a safe haven, and decided on our next action.  Since we are a PvE guild after all, and we are playing it old school, an Onyxia raid is just what the doctor ordered.  We spent the rest of the evening in 5-man groups trying to get everyone finished at least the LBRS part of the chain, with the help of Boostah and a couple others who could still remember their way around!

All in all, I think the event was a success.  Sure, it wasn’t super organized, but I found it really interesting to see how people worked together and made decisions as a group, something we don’t get to do while raiding very often.

I’ll be planning the real Onyxia raid in a couple of weeks, and I think it’ll be a blast!

Leave a Reply

