h1

Gearing Up

July 22, 2008

Since my return from my short study break from WoW, I’ve come to realize something about my gear.  It’s always the same.  I seem to have gotten stuck in a rut with my gear, and other than my SSO necklace and featherduster, I haven’t gotten much new gear in the last seven months.  And I seemed content with my gear level and look, until I recently compared myself to the other raiding hunters of the guild.  And then, the jealousy kicked in.  Why am I not first on the DPS meter?  It’s my gear, of course!  And it’s time to remedy that.  Time to get my butt in gear, so to speak.

If you don’t know me well enough, you probably don’t know my love for spreadsheets.  Well, I’ve started to compile a list of improvements, and ranking them based on several factors.  I use RatingBuster, but there are some things it doesn’t account for well enough, like enchants and gems.  So, with the help of Cheeky’s Hunter DPS Spreadsheet, I’ve compared my current gear and a bunch of upgrades that are within my grasp.

You can see the current condition of my spreadsheet here.  It comes complete with colour-coding and all!  It may not make complete sense to you, but I find it really interesting to see how much each item can affect my DPS, and where I have to make sacrifices to get some good numbers in the damage meters.

It is a work in progress for sure, but I think it’s going to help me in the long run.  I now have my priorities straight, and it has already helped me decide between a new ring and a new chest.  I’ve still got to add some more possibilities to the list, like more crafted gear, but at least I have something to aim for!

Leave a Reply

